Make Women's voices heard... see their lives!

The IAWRT Documentary Awards competition is organized every second year at the IAWRT Biennial conference.  The Awards celebrate outstanding documentaries made by women and are open to all female producers, directors and journalists working with radio, television, web and film documentaries anywhere in the world.

Both IAWRT members and non-members, as well as production companies and independent directors, can submit entries. The documentaries must portray a woman or women who are making a difference, in their own lives or in the lives of other women. Our awards are not format specific, so radio, video or web journalism entries are all considered.

Entries must be between 20 and 90 minutes long for Film/TV/Interactive, 15 – 60 minutes for Radio, and at least 15 minutes for webcast documentaries. They must have been broadcast, shown at a competitive festival or uploaded on the web between October 2015 and October 2017.

Entries are assessed by an international jury of IAWRT members and the winners will be announced at the Gala Dinner of the Biennial Conference.

A Prize of USD 1,000 will be awarded for each of three categories:

  • The Social Impact Award  (Laila Doss Award): The potential for this work to change women's lives
  • The Innovation Award (Mette Janson Award): Demonstrates innovation in form, story, and or interactivity with publics.
  • The Emerging Talent Award (Jai Chandiram Award): This award is open to students and/or first time documentary makers.

Clips or links to the winning documentaries will be posted or embedded on the IAWRT website.

Contact/Coordinator of Awards: Arshiya Ashsan


The IAWRT AWARDS have been an integral part of the IAWRT International Biennial Conferences since 1994.

Mette Janson, Norway and Christina Ruhnbro, Sweden, planned and coordinated the first Awards. Mette Janson ran them up until 2003. Gerd Inger Polden, Norway took over as coordinator from 2005 until 2015. 


The IAWRT Awards of Excellence were announced at the 37th Biennial Conference of the International  Association of Women in Radio and Television organised by the Philippines Chapter, held in Quezon City, greater Manilla, in the Philippines.

IAWRT Awards of Excellence were announced at the 36th Biennial Conference of the International  Association of Women in Radio and Television organised by the India Chapter at the Hotel Vivanta by Taj, Dwarka, New Delhi.


Réseau des Femmes Journalistes du Maroc and International Association of Women in Radio and Television have hosted the IAWRT Biennial Conference at Lido hotel, Casablanca from October 24th to 26th.